

The Latin America Day

Since October 1923 the Lateinamerika Verein or LAV (Association for Latin America) has been organizing the yearly event "The Latin American Day". This summit commemorates the arrival of Christopher Columbus on American territory on October 12, 1492 — since then the fortunes of the European and the American continents have been constantly connected. This tradition was only interrupted by World War II and the troubled post-war years.

Since 1991 the "The Latin American Day" is usually celebrated in the first half of October. This conference alternately takes place in Hamburg or in another large German city. This event consists of one day of conferences on Latin America in general, another day of conferences on a specific country and finally a gala dinner, which is an excellent opportunity to meet and exchange information and ideas with other LAV members and with representatives of the diplomatic, political and business sectors from Latin America, Germany and Europe in general.

Keynote speakers at the gala dinner The Latin American Day 1949 – 2021

2022	Mario Abdo Benitez, Präsident der Republik Paraguay
2021	Marta Lucía Ramírez Blanco, Vice President and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Colombia
2020	ONLINE: Alberto Ángel Fernández, President of the Republic of Argentina
	ONLINE: General Hamilton Mourão, Vice President of the Federative Republic of Brazil
2019	Manuel Mejía Dalmau, Ambassador of the Republic of Ecuador, on behalf of the President of Ecuador, Lenín Moreno
2018	Sebastián Piñera, President of the Republic of Chile
2017	Gabriel André Duque Mildenberg, Economic Expert and Ambassador of the Republic of
	Colombia to Japan, representing Foreign Minister María Ángela Holguín Cuellar
2016	Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament
2015	Evo Morales Ayma, President of the Plurinational State of Bolivia
2014	Michelle Bachelet Jeria, President of Chile
2013	Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal, Minister of Economy, Mexiko
2012	Ricardo Ricardo Alberto Martinelli Berrocal, President of the Republic of Panama
2011	José Alberto Mujica Cordano, President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay

2010	Dra. Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner, President of the Republic of Argentina
2009	Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, President of the Federal Republic of Brasil
2009	Ambassador Samuel Pinheiro Guimarães Neto, Minister for Strategical Affairs at the President's Office, representing President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva
2008	Patrick Manning, Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
2007	Martín Torrijos Espino, President of Panama
2006	Michelle Bachelet Jeria, President of Chile
2005	Dr. Tabaré Vázquez, President of Uruguay
2004	Dr. Nicanor Duarte Frutos, President of Paraguay
2003	Daniel Osvaldo Scioli, Vicepresident of Argentina, (representing the President, Dr. Néstor Carlos Kirchner)
2002	Enrique Bolaños Geyer, President of Nicaragua
	Ricardo Maduro, President of Honduras
	Lineth Saborío, Vice president of Costa Rica
	Dominador Kaiser Bazán, Vice president of Panamá
	María Eugenia Brizuela de Avila, representative of the President of El Salvador
	Raúl Edmundo Archila Serrano, Minister of Energy and Mining of Guatemala
2001	Vicente Fox Quesada, President of Mexico
2000	Prof. Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso, President of Brazil
1999	Hugo Chávez Frías, President of Venezuela
1998	Lic. Gonzalo Sanchez de Losada, former President of Bolivia / Chairman of the Board, Minera S.A.
1997	Dr. Günter Rexrodt, Federal Minister of Economic Affairs
	Dr. Ernesto Zedillo Ponce de León, President of Mexico
1996	Prof. Dr. Roman Herzog, President of the Federal Republic of Germany
	Ing. Alberto Kenyo Fujimori Fujimori, President of Perú
1995	Dr. Klaus Kinkel, Federal Minister of Foreign Relations,
	Dr. Ernesto Samper Pizano, President of Colombia
1994	Jürgen Sarrazin, Spokesman of the Board of Management, Dresdner Bank AG
1993	Rudolf Hommes, Finance Minister, Colombia
1992	Dr. h.c. Tyll Necker, President of the BDI
	Dr. Carlos Menem, President of Argentina
1991	Dr. Jaime Serra Puche, Secretary of Commerce and Industry Promotion, Mexico
1990	Dr. Heinz Riesenhuber, Federal Minister of Investigation and Technology
	Dr. Antonio Ermán González, Minister of Economy, Argentina

1989	Helmut Schmidt, Federal Chancellor (retired)
1988	Hans Klein, Federal Minister of Economic Cooperation
1987	Dr. Hans Tietmeyer, Secretary of State, Federal Finance Ministry
1986	Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker, President of the Federal Republic of Germany
	Lic. Vinicio Cerezo Arévalo, President of Guatemala
1985	Dr. Martin Bangemann, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1984	Hans-Dietrich Genscher, Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs and Vice Chancellor of Germany
1983	Karl Otto Pöhl, President of the German Central Bank (Deutsche Bundesbank)
1982	Richard Stücklen, President of the Federal Parliament
	Ernane Galveas, Finance Minister, Federal Republic of Brazil
1981	Lothar Späth, Prime Minister of Baden-Württemberg
1980	Carl Otto Merkel, owner of Louis Delius & Co. and Chairman of the Board of Management of the Ibero-American Association
1979	Dr. Karl Klasen President of the German Central Bank (Deutsche Bundesbank) (retired)
1978	Rainer Offergeld, Federal Minister of Economic Cooperation
1977	Dr. John Henry de la Trobe, President of the German Federation of Shipowners
1976	Dr. Walter Scheel, President of the Federal Republic of Germany
1975	Dr. Peter von Siemens, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Siemens AG
1974	Dr. Hans Friderichs, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1973	Dr. Walter Scheel, Foreign Minister of Germany
1972	Prof. Dr. Kurt Hansen, Chairman of the Board of Management, Bayer AG
1971	Prof. Dr. Ralf Dahrendorf, Member of the Commission of the European Community
1970	Prof. Karl Schiller, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1969	Dr. Gerhard Stoltenberg, Federal Minister of Scientific Investigation
1968	Dr. Hermann J. Abs, Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Deutsche Bank AG
1967	Willy Brandt, Foreign Minister of West Germany, and Vice Chancellor of West Germany
1966	Dr. Walter Scheel, Federal Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development
1965	Dr. Felipe Herrera President of the Inter-American Development Bank
	Dr. Karl Blessing, President of the German Central Bank (Deutsche Bundesbank)
1964	Dr. Walter Scheel, Federal Minister of Economic Cooperation
1963	Prof. Dr. h.c. Walter Hallstein, President of the Commission, European Economic Comunity
1962	Dr. Karl Carstens, Secretary of State, Foreign Affairs
1961	Dr. Heinrich Lübcke, President of the Federal Republic of Germany
1960	Dr. Heinrich von Brentano, Foreign Minster of Germany

1959	Fritz Berg, Chairman of BDI (Federation of German Industries)
	Dr. Hermann Lindrath, Federal Minister of the Economic Assets of the State
1958	Dr. Th. Sonnemann, Secretary of State, Federal Ministry for Food, Agriculture and Forestation
1957	Prof. Dr. Ludwig Erhard, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1956	Gesandter Dr. W. von Bargen, Secretary of State, Department of State
1955	Prof. Dr. Ludwig Erhard, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1954	Prof. Dr. Theodor Heuss, President of the Federal Republic of Germany
1953	Prof. Dr. h.c. Walter Hallstein, Secretary of State, Department of State
1952	Prof. Dr. Ludwig Erhard, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1951	Hans Heinrich Waitz, Copartner at Münchmeyer & Co. and Chairman of the Ibero-American Association Hamburg-Bremen
1950	Prof. Dr. Theodor Heuss, President of the Federal Republic of Germany (via radio broadcasting)
	Prof. Dr. Ludwig Erhard, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology
1949	Prof. Dr. Ludwig Erhard, Federal Minister of Economics and Technology Assistent secretary of state
	Dr. Freiherr Vollrath v. Maltzan, Head of the bureau of foreign trade and payment of

the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology